Tips & Advice

Postgraduate Study in the Philippines: Cost by Path

By SchoolFinderPH TeamAugust 3, 202614 min read
Postgraduate Study in the Philippines: Cost by Path

TL;DR: After a bachelor's degree, Philippine graduates have four broad paths: short diploma or certificate programs, a master's degree (about 30-42 units, ₱500 to ₱5,000+ per unit depending on the school), a doctorate or professional doctorate (several years plus a dissertation), and professional schools like law (a four-year Juris Doctor) or an MBA. State universities such as UP Diliman charge as little as ₱500 per unit for many graduate programs, while private schools like Ateneo run closer to ₱5,000 per unit, per each institution's own published fee schedule and third-party program comparisons. All four sit on one official ladder: the Philippine Qualifications Framework puts baccalaureate at Level 6, postgraduate diplomas and master's degrees together at Level 7, and doctoral plus post-doctoral programs at Level 8. Which path makes sense depends entirely on the goal: a promotion inside a specific career ladder, a shift into research or academia, or a licensed profession. This post is the map — each path has its own guide linked below.

Not every path after a bachelor's degree looks the same, and the terms get used loosely. "Postgraduate," "graduate school," and "further studies" can mean a six-month certificate or a seven-year PhD, and the cost difference between those is enormous. This guide lays out the landscape: what a diploma/certificate program is versus a master's versus a doctorate versus a professional degree like law or an MBA, what each actually requires to get in, what each roughly costs at a state university versus a private school, and how long each takes. It is a map, not a deep dive — each path has its own full guide linked below, including our master's degree guide for the most common route.

What Are the Postgraduate Options in the Philippines?

There are four broad tracks after a bachelor's degree, and they are not interchangeable. A diploma or certificate program is the lightest: a semester to a year of coursework, usually without a thesis, built around a specific skill (project management, a teaching certificate for non-education graduates, a specialized clinical skill). A master's degree is the standard graduate credential, typically 30 to 42 units combining coursework with a thesis or comprehensive exam. A doctorate — either a research PhD or a professional doctorate such as an EdD or DBA — comes after a master's (or sometimes directly after a bachelor's in a combined track) and centers on a dissertation. Professional schools are a separate category entirely: law (Juris Doctor) and medicine are graduate-entry professional degrees with their own licensure exams, and an MBA sits alongside them as a professional (not academic-research) graduate degree focused on business practice.

Disclaimer: program structures, unit counts, and entry requirements vary by school and change over time. Confirm current requirements directly with your target program's graduate office.

Where Each Credential Actually Sits: The PQF Ladder

The reason "postgraduate" is such a slippery word is that people use it for four different rungs of one official ladder. The Philippine Qualifications Framework (PQF) — the national system run jointly by DepEd, TESDA, CHED, PRC, and DOLE — assigns every qualification in the country a level from 1 to 8, and it is the cleanest way to see how these paths relate to each other.

Per the PQF's published domains and descriptors, "the Commission on Higher Education Subsystem covers Baccalaureate, Postgraduate Diploma, Masters, and Doctorate that correspond to Levels 6 to 8," while the TESDA and CHED subsystems "interface in the provision of diploma programs at level 5."

PQF LevelQualification typeWhat it means in practice
5DiplomaThe interface between technical-vocational and higher education; not a graduate credential
6Baccalaureate DegreeYour bachelor's — the entry ticket to everything below
7Post-Baccalaureate ProgramGraduate diplomas, master's degrees, and graduate-entry professional degrees
8Doctoral Degree and Post-Doctoral ProgramsThe top of the framework, including post-doctoral work

Two things fall out of this that save a lot of confusion.

First, a graduate diploma and a master's degree sit on the same rung. Level 7 is described as demonstrating "advanced knowledge and skills in a specialized or multi-disciplinary field of study for professional practice, self-directed research and/or lifelong learning." A postgraduate diploma is not a lesser species of qualification than a master's — it is a shorter, differently shaped credential at the same level. That is exactly why laddering diploma units into a master's is even conceptually possible at some schools.

Second, Level 8 explicitly includes post-doctoral programs, which is the answer to a question people ask constantly: yes, there is something after the PhD, but it is not a further degree. It is research work, and it lives at the same framework level.

The PQF describes learning outcomes, not entry rules. It tells you where a credential sits; it does not tell you whether a given school will admit you.

How Much Does Each Path Cost?

Cost varies more by school type than by degree type. The table below pulls from each program's own published cost data where available.

PathTypical Cost RangeSource Basis
Diploma/CertificateOften priced per subject; one online provider charges around ₱4,000-6,000/subject (~₱48,000 total program)Third-party program comparison
Master's — state university~₱500-4,500 per unit depending on college (UP Diliman)UP Diliman official 2024-2025 graduate fee schedule
Master's — private university~₱2,500 per unit (UST) to ~₱4,000+ per unit (DLSU) to ~₱5,000 per unit (Ateneo)Third-party program comparison
MBA (state, UP Virata School of Business)₱2,500/unit regular campus; ₱4,500/unit BGC extensionUP Diliman official 2024-2025 graduate fee schedule
MBA (AIM, international format)USD 31,000 total program fee (Jan 2027 intake)AIM official iMBA fees page
DoctorateRuns higher per unit than a master's at the same school, plus dissertation-related feesSee our doctorate guide for the full breakdown
Law (JD)Charged per unit like other professional programs; UP's LLM (a separate graduate law degree) runs ₱15,000/unitUP Diliman official 2024-2025 graduate fee schedule

Numbers move by school year and campus, so treat these as a starting orientation rather than a quote. Full program-specific breakdowns are in our master's degree, doctorate, MBA, and law master's guides.

What Is a Master's Degree, and Who Is It For?

This is the summary. The master's route has its own full guide covering units, thesis versus non-thesis tracks, per-unit tuition at state versus private schools, part-time timelines, and funding — start there if the master's is the path you have already settled on: Master's Degree in the Philippines.

A master's is the default next step for someone deepening expertise in their existing field or pivoting into a related one, and it is the credential most graduate schools are built around. In the Philippines, the two biggest concentrations are education (with Philippine Normal University as the designated national teacher-education center) and business (MBA programs). Admission generally requires a bachelor's degree with a minimum GPA — for example, PNU's own graduate brochure lists a GPA of 85%, 2.00, or B or better for master's-level applicants — plus recommendation letters and, at many schools, an entrance exam. Programs run roughly 30 to 42 units. Our dedicated master's degree guide covers admission by school type, per-unit costs, and how long a typical program takes to finish part-time versus full-time.

What Is a Doctorate, and Who Actually Needs One?

A doctorate is a heavier, longer commitment, generally reserved for people going into academia, research leadership, or the very top of an institutional hierarchy (a university president, a DepEd Schools Division Superintendent). Philippine universities offer both the research-focused PhD and professional doctorates such as the Doctor of Education (EdD) or Doctor of Business Administration (DBA), which lean toward applied practice rather than pure research. Admission typically requires a completed master's degree — PNU's brochure, for instance, requires a master's-level transcript and a GPA of 90%, 1.75, or B+ or better for doctoral applicants, a noticeably higher bar than its master's admission. The choice between an EdD and a PhD in education specifically is its own decision; our EdD vs PhD guide breaks down the difference, and the full doctorate guide covers cost, duration, and scholarships like DOST and CHED fellowships.

Do you need a master's first, or can you go straight to a doctorate?

Both routes exist, and which one is open to you depends entirely on the specific college — not on the university as a whole.

UP Diliman's own graduate admission rules state that for admission into a doctoral program an applicant must possess "a bachelor's degree, in the case of a direct doctoral program, or a masters degree or its equivalent from a recognized institution of higher learning." In other words, the direct doctoral track is a real thing at UP, but it only applies where the unit actually offers one. Where it does not, the master's is a mandatory intermediate step, not an optional one.

This matters for planning because a direct doctoral route can save a year or more, but it is also a much harder admission to win and a much heavier commitment to enter cold. If you are unsure, the safer question to ask a graduate office is not "do you accept bachelor's holders?" but "does this specific program have a direct doctoral track, and how many people entered through it last year?"

What doctoral admission actually requires

Requirements are set per school, but the shape is consistent across Philippine graduate schools. Two published examples show the range:

UP Diliman (state)Philippine Normal University (state, education-focused)
Prior degreeMaster's, or bachelor's for a direct doctoral programMaster's degree Transcript of Records
GradesNot stated as a fixed cut-off; "intellectual capacity and aptitude for advanced studies and research"GPA of 90%, 1.75, B+ or better, certified by the school registrar
RecommendationsWritten recommendations from two former professors or experts in the fieldThree recommendation forms, from current or previous employers, professors, or mentors
Entrance examNot stated as a general university-wide requirement; set per unitGCAT (Graduate College Admission Test), with a PHP 400.00 test fee
LanguageProof of English or Filipino proficiency for non-native speakers, unless the applicant graduated where the medium of instruction was English or FilipinoNot stated
OtherHealth clearance, plus special requirements imposed by the college or graduate committee2x2 photo; original credentials submitted at pre-enrollment

Note the gap between the two on grades. PNU publishes a hard numeric floor for doctoral applicants that is a full step above its own master's-level floor of 85%, 2.00, or B. UP Diliman instead leaves the academic judgment to the college and imposes university-wide requirements around it — including a documented English proficiency standard for applicants whose native language is neither English nor Filipino: at least 500 paper-based, 173 computer-based, or 61 internet-based on the TOEFL, or at least 5.5 on IELTS, or a certification from an authorized UP unit.

The practical lesson is that "what does a doctorate require" has no national answer. Two state universities, both public, both reputable, publish materially different gates. Get the requirement sheet from the actual college you are applying to before you assume anything.

Which Guide Do You Need Next?

This post is the map. Each path below has a dedicated guide with the cost, unit counts, timelines, and funding detail that would make this page unreadable if it were all here.

If you are...Go to
Set on a master's and want units, cost, and timelinesMaster's Degree in the Philippines
Weighing a PhD — units, tuition, dissertation, fundingDoctorate in the Philippines
Choosing between an EdD and a PhD in educationEdD vs PhD in Education
A teacher chasing DepEd ranking pointsMAEd Guide and Teacher Salary Ladder
Considering an MBAMBA in the Philippines
A nurse looking at graduate studyMaster's in Nursing
A law graduate looking at an LLMLaw Master's in the Philippines
Facing a thesis or dissertation write-upThesis Chapters Guide
Applying to medical schoolNMAT Guide
Still at the undergraduate admission stageCollege Admission Requirements

What About Professional Schools — Law, Medicine, and the MBA?

Law and medicine sit outside the master's-doctorate ladder entirely. A Juris Doctor (JD) is a graduate-entry law degree — it requires a completed bachelor's degree to enter, runs four years, and only after finishing it can a graduate sit the Philippine Bar Examination. A separate credential, the Master of Laws (LLM), is a further graduate degree open only to people who already hold a basic law degree (JD or LLB); it is not a substitute for the JD itself. Our law master's guide covers the LLM route specifically. The MBA runs on a similar professional-practice logic: it assumes real work experience (some executive-format programs require a decade or more) rather than fresh-graduate entry, and it is priced and structured differently from an academic master's. Our MBA guide covers admission, cost by school, and an honest read on the return.

Does a Master's Degree Matter for a DepEd Career?

For classroom teachers specifically, yes, in a very concrete way. A master's is not required to get an initial Teacher I appointment, but graduate units and degrees earn points in DepEd's ranking system and are a documented requirement for reclassification into certain higher posts. Our MAEd guide walks through exactly how many graduate units matter at which rank, and how that interacts with the teacher salary ladder from Teacher I through Master Teacher. This is one of the clearest cases in the Philippines where a specific graduate credential has a documented, traceable effect on pay and rank rather than a vague "it helps your resume" benefit.

Diploma and Certificate Programs: The Lighter-Weight Option

Not everyone needs a full master's. A graduate diploma or certificate program is built for someone who wants a specific, credentialed skill without the thesis and multi-year commitment of a full degree — common examples include professional certificates in project management, specialized clinical training for licensed professionals, or a non-thesis teaching certificate for graduates of unrelated degrees who want to enter teaching. Some schools allow units earned in a certificate program to "ladder" into a master's later if the applicant later decides to pursue the full degree, though this is not automatic and must be confirmed with the specific school's graduate office before enrolling on that assumption.

How Do You Choose the Right Path?

Before committing years and real money to any postgraduate program, work through these questions:

  • What is the actual goal? A promotion inside a specific career ladder (teaching, government service) calls for a targeted master's in that field. Academic research or a leadership track calls for a doctorate. A licensed profession (law) has only one door in.
  • Can you study part-time? Most Philippine graduate programs, especially in education, are built around working professionals, with weekend, evening, or fully online formats. Full-time study finishes faster but usually means an income gap.
  • Does your target employer actually reward the credential? DepEd's documented reclassification rules are a clear example of a real payoff. A generic "future-proofing" master's with no specific target job in mind is a much weaker case for the cost.
  • Have you compared state versus private cost realistically? The per-unit gap between a state university and a private school can be four to nine times, per the schedules cited above — confirm actual total program cost, not just the headline per-unit rate, before choosing.

Ready to find the right school? Browse schools or compare tuition and reviews across hundreds of Philippine schools on SchoolFinderPH.

Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the postgraduate study options in the Philippines?

Four broad paths: non-degree diploma or certificate programs (a semester to a year), a master's degree (roughly 30-42 units, one to two years), a doctorate or professional doctorate (several years plus a dissertation), and professional schools such as law (a four-year Juris Doctor) or an MBA. Each has different entry requirements and cost bands.

How much does a masters degree cost in the Philippines?

Per-unit tuition at state universities like UP Diliman runs from about ₱500 to ₱4,500 depending on the college and program, per the university's official 2024-2025 graduate fee schedule. Private schools run higher: roughly ₱2,500-₱4,000+ per unit at UST and DLSU, and around ₱5,000 per unit at Ateneo, per third-party program comparisons. See our full masters degree guide for the breakdown.

Is a doctorate the same as a PhD in the Philippines?

No. A PhD is a research doctorate built around original research and a dissertation, while a professional doctorate (like an EdD or DBA) is built around applied practice in a field, often with a shorter or different research component. Philippine universities offer both; which one fits depends on whether your goal is academic research or practice-based leadership. Our doctorate guide covers both tracks.

Do I need a masters degree to teach in college or advance in DepEd?

For DepEd, a master's is not required to get hired as Teacher I, but it earns points in the ranking system and specific graduate units are required for reclassification to certain higher posts, such as Principal-level positions. For teaching at the college level, most CHED-recognized colleges require faculty to hold at least a master's degree in the subject taught.

How long does it take to finish a masters degree in the Philippines?

Most master's programs require roughly 30 to 42 units. Enrolled full-time, that is typically 1.5 to 2 years; many in-service professionals take longer by enrolling part-time in weekend or evening classes, especially teachers and government employees who keep working while studying.

Is law school considered postgraduate study in the Philippines?

Yes. A Juris Doctor (JD) is a graduate-level law degree requiring a completed bachelor's degree for admission, and it runs four years before a graduate is eligible to sit the Philippine Bar Examination, per the standard structure of Philippine legal education. Separately, a Master of Laws (LLM) is a further graduate degree open to those who already hold a basic law degree.

Can I go straight from a bachelor's degree to a doctorate in the Philippines?

Sometimes. UP Diliman's own graduate admission rules allow entry into a doctoral program with either "a bachelor's degree, in the case of a direct doctoral program, or a masters degree or its equivalent from a recognized institution of higher learning." So a direct or straight doctoral track exists, but only where the specific unit offers one. Where it does not, the master's degree is the mandatory intermediate step. Confirm with the college or graduate office, not with a general university page.

What is a diploma or certificate program, and is it worth it?

A graduate diploma or certificate program is a shorter, non-thesis credential, often a semester to a year, aimed at a specific professional skill rather than a full master's title. It suits someone who wants credentialed knowledge quickly, sometimes as a stepping stone that later "ladders" into a master's if some units are creditable toward it. Confirm creditability with the specific school.